Report- Hostel Committee (2016-21)

Bharati College achieved a new milestone when Girls' Hostel was added in its profile in July 2016.

The founding Hostel Committee comprising of Dr. Mukti Sanyal, Dr. Saloni Gupta, Dr. Prem K. Singh and Dr. Mala Rani, undertook a thorough research before drafting, designing and finalizing the Hostel Prospectus, Fee-structure, Admission Form, Leave Form, Mess Menu & Mess Contract and rights & duties of Warden,. Interior space allocation was planned carefully, keeping the space limitation in mind. Essential infrastructure such as beds, almirahs, study tables & chairs, dining tables & chairs, fans, wall clocks, water coolers with purifiers, sofa sets, TVs, ACs, Geyser, Refrigerator, etc. were requisitioned and procured over time.

The Hostel was formally inaugurated on 16 February 2017 by Dr. Satbir Bedi, IAS & Member Secretary of National Commission for Women. An exhaustive admission process was followed to admit students to the hostel. A total of **27** students were admitted in 2017-18, followed by **43** in 2018-19 & finally, the number rose to **68** in 2019-20.

All the three wardens, namely, Ms. Himanshu Garg (2016-17), Dr. Madhuri Sharma (2017-19) and Dr. Roopa Johri (2019-21) worked tirelessly for improving, developing and enhancing the infrastructure and experience of the Hostel adding their personal touches. There is an elected Hostel Union, and residents are required to be involved in upkeep of the Hostel. A new ring road to facilitate the movement of residents is also now built.

Along with experiencing the diversity of our own nation through the students who come from all over the country, we also had the opportunity to host a Nigerian student, an ICCR scholar in our Hostel. The Hostel Committee was applauded by the Foreign Students' Registry Office, University of Delhi, for showing a very high sense of commitment towards her well-being.

Members of the Hostel Committee organized Holi Milan on 8th March 2020 in the Hostel for the residents (who couldn't go to their homes) with sumptuous lunch and cultural fiesta. Incidentally, that was the last formal interaction of the Committee with the Hostel residents before the onset of Covid-19 pandemic.

I thank all the members of the Committee, including Dr. Kalpana Kataria, Dr. Rajni, Dr. Dinesh Singh, S.O. Admn & S.O.A/c and the Principals, including Dr. Sandhya Jain, Dr. Mukti Sanyal & Dr. Rekha Sapra for being very supportive and contributing relentlessly during my tenure as Convener.

Since the basic infrastructure is established and in place now, I hope that the new Committee can focus on completing the rest half of the Hostel building as per the original Building Plan.

Dr. Mala Rani, Convenor, Hostel Committee (2016-21)